Where is the Barony of Lions Gate?

Originally, the Barony of Lions Gate (and the Shire before that) was considered to be "Vancouver, BC", but it was soon expanded to "Greater Vancouver", and eventually to "the Lower Mainland, BC", which includes Vancouver, all the municipalities considered to be the "Greater Vancouver Regional District", and the Fraser Valley. For a while, Lions Gate claimed lands as far north in British Columbia as Clinton, BC, as well as the South Pole. (The penguins were all wearing Lions Gate colours.)

As the SCA expanded in British Columbia more groups were created in the interior, and so Lions Gate returned to being simply "Greater Vancouver / Fraser Valley". In the late 1970s, a group of SCA folk in Vancouver decided that they wanted a second group within the area, different from Lions Gate, and they created the Shire of Eisenmarche. Eisenmarche didn't have an official municipal or postal-code designation, but was those people who lived in Greater Vancouver yet didn't think of themselves as part of the Barony. Over time, the Shire of Eisenmarche was listed as being various municipalities within Greater Vancouver, depending on where a majority of her members lived.

In the 1990s, the idea of a new group was growing in the eastern lands of the Barony, and the Canton of Lionsdale was created. It did not achieve full branch status (yet), but for a while included parts of the Fraser Valley and Pitt Meadows / Maple Ridge.

In 2001, the people of Lions Gate and Eisenmarche got together to officially recognise and delineate the borders, and a treaty was created to allow both groups to freely use lands within each others' borders. In 2003, a new Shire of Lionsdale was granted status, and officially given "The Fraser Valley Regional District" as its borders

So at this time, Lions Gate was "Vancouver, West Vancouver, North Vancouver, Richmond, Burnaby, Surrey, Langley, White Rock, and Delta", while Eisenmarche had "New Westminster, Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows". To the east, Lionsdale held "Mission, Abbotsford, Chilliwack and Hope". This was to hold true for another 10 years.

By the year 2010, many branches were starting to feel the pinch of losing members, and the three sisters in the Lower Mainland were no exception; being a much smaller branch, Eisenmarche felt it more so. Following some soul-searching and talks with the people throughout all three branches, the Shire of Eisenmarche was disolved in 2011, and her lands divided between Lions Gate and Lionsdale.

As of the year AS LXV / 2011 CE, the following municipalities make up the Barony of Lions Gate; Bowen Island, Britannia Beach, Burnaby, Coquitlam, Delta, Langley, Lions Bay, New Westminster, North Vancouver, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Richmond, Surrey, Squamish, Vancouver, White Rock, and Whistler. The Shire of Lionsdale includes Maple Ridge, Pitt Meadows, Mission, Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Hope, and the remainder of the Fraser Valley.